Menu:

News

2009:
Our new album "Pugnate!" has been released. For the first time, a genuine reconstruction of a Roman water-organ will be heard in connection with the themes of arena games and gladiator fights. Already highly esteemed in radio and press publications...

More information here.

 
Informations:

Listening Samples:

arrow MySpace

Photographs:

- Eva Fritz, construction researcher
- Marcel Schwarzenberger, www.chronico.de
- Günther Neubauer, www.blickpunkt.cc
- Mario Hopfgartner/
Langbein u. Skalnik Media
- Heike Krings, media design
- Taktlicht, www.taktlicht.de
- Wolfgang David, www.museum-manching.de
- Susanne Rühling,
Musica Romana
- Jutta Knur,
Musica Romana
- Hilmar Knur
- Peter C. Behavy, www.floridofilm.com
- Matthias Pacher, www.carnuntum.co.at
- Ulrich Sauerborn, www.limesmuseum.de

Copyright:

All informations (texts) are free sources, if you name the authors. By using it in the internet please emails us and link back to this homepage. The pictures are copyrighted and are only allowed to use in arrangement. Thank you!

Dezign
(4 Janv, 2007)
Validate XHTML 1.0 Strict
and Css

 

ill titleExperimental Music Archeology

"Music archeology" - this word might lead to the assumption that we could just excavate the music of our ancestors and perform and hear it straight away. Unfortunately, this is not so.

By "music archeology", different scientists mean different things. While some use the term only for the pursuit of finds of musical instruments or at least parts thereof, for others it means, in addition, to deal with written sources of historical music. From the Roman era, there sometimes exist more finds of specific musical instruments, f.e. reed-instruments, than from the Middle Ages. On the other hand, sources of written music of the Romans are fewer, even though an ancient notation - as opposed to sources denying that fact - is known. Moreover, in most cases, the sources do not reveal for which instrument the fragment in question was meant - just like most medieval sources as well.

Reconstructed musical instruments

Therefore, musical scientists, musicians and archeologists try to find out the probable sounds of ancient instruments experimentally, by reconstructing the finds as close to the original as possible. This is an adventure which requests high skills as well as creativity. And some important facts should not be forgotten: not every complex instrument might have always been used to the utmost range of its facilities, and a masterly player can give a highly skilled performance on what at first may seem a simple instrument.
Not only the musicians playing historical instruments are bound to their own musical tradition and experience. Also the listener has modern hearing habits. Even if musicians try get as close as possible to the ancient sound, the modern audience will perceive them in a different way as the ancient listeners did.

Reconstructed Instruments

Now, what instruments have been preserved from Antiquitiy? Most of them are wind instruments - reed instruments, flutes, pan flutes, and - rarely - remainders of small organs. Also some string instruments, as lutes and parts of lyres, as well as rattles and percussive instruments had been found. Many of these finds prove that the art of making instruments had been highly developed. This is most obvious with complex organs an the Auloi (aulos/Tibia). The latter were highly developed reed instruments with reeds similar to modern oboes, and mostly played in pairs. These Auloi were not only elaborately made of delicate materials like bone, metal or wood, but also featured mechanical tuning systems which turn up again not before the Renaissance.

Rekonstrukierte Instrumente

Of many instruments, only small parts like pegs or string holders still exist. Other, better preserved instruments often lack parts. Knowledge of important devices like reeds or strings comes from written sources and pictures. Such parts rot in the soil and are practically never found. Music archeology is an interdisciplinary science relying also on helpful experience and research of historians, art historians and ethnologists.

Text: Merit Zloch, Archaeologist M.A., Harpist at Mvsica Romana

Menu:

Neuigkeiten

2009:
Das neue Album "Pugnate" ist erschienen. Erstmalig ist die Rekonstruktion einer römischen Wasserorgel im Zusammenhang mit dem Thema Arena und Gladiatoren zu hören. Bereits jetzt hochgelobt in Radio und Presse...

Mehr Informationen hier.

 
Informationen:

Hörproben:

arrow MySpace

Photographien:

- Eva Fritz, Bauforschung
- Marcel Schwarzenberger, www.chronico.de
- Günther Neubauer, www.blickpunkt.cc
- Mario Hopfgartner/
Langbein u. Skalnik Media
- Heike Krings, Mediengestalterin
- Taktlicht, www.taktlicht.de
- Wolfgang David, www.museum-manching.de
- Susanne Rühling,
Musica Romana
- Jutta Knur,
Musica Romana
- Hilmar Knur
- Peter C. Behavy, www.floridofilm.com
- Matthias Pacher, www.carnuntum.co.at
- Ulrich Sauerborn, www.limesmuseum.de

Urheberrecht:

Alle Informationen (Texte) sind zur freien Nutzung, wenn bei Verwendung die Autoren genannt werden. Bei Nutzung im Web bitten wir um eine Email und einen Link auf diese Website. Die Bilder unterliegen dem Urheberrecht und dürfen nur nach Absprache verwendet werden. Danke!

Dezign
(4 Janv, 2007)
Validate XHTML 1.0 Strict
and Css

 

ill titleExperimentelle Musikarchäologie

"Musikarchäologie" - dieses Wort verleitet zu der Annahme, man könne die Musik unserer Vorfahren ausgraben und anschließend aufführen und anhören. Das ist natürlich nicht möglich - leider.

Unter Musikarchäologie verstehen verschiedene Wissenschaftler unterschiedliche Dinge. Während für die einen der Begriff nur für die Beschäftigung mit Funden von Musikinstrumenten und deren Teilen steht, umfaßt er für andere zusätzlich dazu die Forschung über niedergeschriebene historische Musik. Aus der römischen Antike sind manchmal mehr archäologische Funde von spezifischen Musikinstrumenten, z.B. Rohrblattinstrumente, erhalten, als aus dem gesamten europäischen Mittelalter. Der Vorrat an erhaltener Musik jedoch ist wesentlich geringer, obwohl die Menschen der Antike - entgegen anders lautenden Quellen - bereits eine Notenschrift benutzten. In den meisten Fällen ist obendrein unbekannt, für welche Instrumente oder Stimmen ein Musikstück oder Fragment gedacht war - wie übrigens bei den meisten Musikquellen aus dem Mittelalter auch.

Rekonstrukierte Musikinstrumente

Musikwissenschaftler, Musiker und Archäologen ermitteln daher experimentell anhand von Nachbauten der Musikinstrumentenfunde, wie diese geklungen haben könnten. Das ist ein Abenteuer, das neben hohem Können viel Kreativität erfordert. Dabei sollte man allerdings einige wichtige Fakten im Auge behalten: Nicht jedes komplexe Instrument muß zwangsläufig in seinen spieltechnischen Möglichkeiten komplett ausgenutzt worden sein, und auch auf zunächst sehr schlicht wirkenden Instrumenten kann ein Spieler mit entsprechenden Fähigkeiten virtuose und komplizierte Musik erzeugen.
Nicht nur die Musiker, die auf historischen Instrumenten spielen, stehen in ihrer eigenen musikalischen Tradition und können nur aus dieser heraus experimentieren. Auch die Zuhörer haben moderne Hörgewohnheiten. Selbst wenn sich also die Musiker dem antiken Klang weitestmöglich annähern, werden die modernen Zuhörer diesen immer noch anders wahrnehmen als das antike Auditorium.

Rekonstrukierte Instrumente

Was sind es nun für Instrumente, die aus der Antike erhalten sind? Es handelt sich vor allem um Blasinstrumente - Rohrblattinstrumente, Kernspaltflöten, Panflöten und selten Reste von Kleinorgeln. Auch einige Saiteninstrumente, wie Laute und Teile einer Leier, sowie Perkussionsinstrumente wie Klappern und Rasseln sind erhalten. Viele der Funde beweisen, daß es in der Antike einen hochentwickelten Instrumentenbau gegeben hat. Besonders auffällig ist dies bei den komplexen Orgeln und den Auloi (Aulos/Tibia). Letztere waren hochentwickelte Rohrblattinstrumente mit ähnlichen Blättern wie die heutige Oboe, die meist paarweise gespielt wurden. Diese Auloi waren oft nicht nur aufwendig aus Knochen gedrechselt, sondern verfügten häufig über Klappen- und Stimmmechanismen, wie sie erst in der Renaissance wieder vorkommen.

Rekonstrukierte Instrumente

Die Instrumente sind häufig nur durch Fragmente wie Saitenhalter oder Wirbel vertreten. Bei vollständiger überlieferten Funden fehlen wiederum oft Teile. Kenntnisse über so wichtige Elemente wie Rohrblätter oder Saiten stammen ausschließlich aus Schrift- und Bildquellen. Diese Teile erhalten sich aufgrund ihrer Vergänglichkeit im Boden so gut wie nie. Die Musikarchäologie ist eine interdisziplinäre Wissenschaft, die auf Erkenntnisse von Historikern, Kunsthistorikern und Ethnologen angewiesen ist.

Text: Merit Zloch, Archäologin M.A., Harfenistin bei Mvsica Romana